(Album Review) “Magna Invocatio: A Gnostic Mass For Choir and Orchestra Inspired by the Sublime Music of Killing Joke” by JAZ COLMAN + ST. PETERSBURG PHILHARMONIC ORCHESTRA

by admin

On November 29th, Jaz Colman(Killing Joke) and the St. Petersburg Philharmonic Orchestra released the album “Magna Invocatio:  A Gnostic Mass for Choir and Orchestra Inspired by the Sublime Music of Killing Joke” via Spinefarm Records.  The record takes a reimagination and Killing Joke fans on an inspirational journey through the classic songs of Killing Joke.  Killing Joke achieved further notoriety by opening up for Tool on their huge North American arena tour this past summer/fall.

Jaz Coleman’s goal for Killing Joke’s newest album and first foray into classical composition, Magna Invocatio is to “bring magic to the listener’s life in some meaningful way”.  The collaboration between the post-punk pioneers and the world-renowned St. Petersburg Orchestra invokes the mystery of a seance, of ritualistic introspection.  Magna Invocatio is a meditative listen, best enjoyed in its entirety and with focus, think Peter and The Wolf meets psychedelia.  The album peaks and valleys taking the listener on a ride through their own dreamscape, a worthy listen for fans of the 40 year strong experimental outfit or not, this work will find itself among the top orchestral compositions of this emerging century.

And there you have it!  Check out the track listing below:

  1.  The Absolute Descent of Light (Magna Invocatio)
  2.  The Raven King
  3.  Intravaneous
  4.  You’ll Never Get To Me
  5.  Absent Friends
  6.  Invocation
  7.  In Cythera
  8.  Big Buzz
  9.  Adorations
  10.  Into The Unknown
  11.  Euphoria
  12.  Honor The Fire
  13.  Magna Invocatio (Gloria)

Fans can find Killing Joke at the following locations:



Check out Killing Joke in Europe this summer:

Sat. 6/13- Punchestown Racecourse in Kildare, Ireland

Fri. 6/19- Festivalpark Stenehei in Dessel, Belgium

Sun. 6/21- Complexe Du Val De Moine in Clisson, France

For tickets and further information on any of the gigs listed above, click here.

Related posts:

You may also like