(Album Review) “Seismic” by WITHOUT MERCY

The Vancouver based death metal outfit continue to grow after almost two decades. ‘Seismic’ is the fifth release from death metallers Without Mercy and featuring of talented guests: Jeff Loomis (Arch Enemy, ex-Nevermore), and Chris Broderick (Act of Defiance, ex-Megadeth, ex-Jag Panzer).

The album dives straight into a dynamic powerful sound with ‘Thunderbird’, featuring Jeff. The intense pace of the rhythm and fast lead gives off a huge feeling of energy. The non-standard tempo adds a deeply unsettling element that perfectly fits the dark mood of the track. Vocals are harsh and immense sounding in the mix. All of the instrumentation feels well balanced and the tones blend well; each element can be heard but the sound is full. The sections of layered vocals and haunting echoes introduces something extra to an already epic track. ‘Thunderbird’ does what it says on the tin – it really brings a powerful, thunderous sound. The more progressive aspects that arise further into the track shift the mood and the overall tone of the music, but it works. Despite being pretty unexpected, the interlude brings in variation and makes the dramatic outro even more enthralling.

Various progressive elements manifest throughout the album. The bluesy and almost jazz inspired interlude in ‘Abysmal’ – a glorious bass line and lead guitar solo, amazingly, don’t feel out of place amongst the death metal. This album is certainly keeping my focus in the lookout for unexpected interludes. The moods explored on ‘Seismic’ are extreme. ‘Disinfect the Soul’ has a raw, heightened feel which is emphasised through the texture of the vocals. ‘Possessed’ delivers further intensity through the vocals, a sense of anger and anguish really comes through in this track. Sections of slower paced heavy rhythms deliver a dark, descending atmosphere.

The intensity of this album never falters. The instrumental tones work fantastically together, the energy is clearly there, and the overall effect is wonderfully intense. Without Mercy have certainly achieved the ‘wall of sound’ effect through ‘Seismic’.


The album is for fans of Cattle Decapitation, Meshuggah and Whitechapel.

Self-Release / Bloodblast Distribution


Track List:

  1. Thunderbird (ft. Jeff Loomis) 04:53
  2. Abysmal 05:42
  3. Left Alone 04:00
  4. Wiindigo 04:55
  5. Disinfect The Soul (ft. Chris Broderick) 07:17
  6. The Disaster 03:52
  7. Possessed 04:04
  8. I Break The Chain 04:43
  9. Uprooted 04:58


Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/withoutmercyband

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/withoutmercyband

Check out the music video for “Disinfect The Soul” below:

Author: Holly Royle

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.