(Album Review) “Forever Black” by CIRITH UNGOL

After 29 years, Ventura, California’s own CIRITH UNGOL have unleashed their metal album “Forever Black” onto the world via Metal Blade Records.  This record proves that their mystical powers will be unleashed on you like a swarm of murder hornets.

Cirith Ungol is composed of Tim Baker on vocals, Greg Lindstrom on guitars, Robert Garven on drums, Jim Barraza on guitars and Jarvis Leatherby on bass.  Leatherby, who was in the band Night Demon, was a lifelong fan of Cirith Ungol, was a driving force on bringing this band back to life.  After a raucous hometown gig in Ventura, the city of Ventura declared October 10th, 2016 to be “Cirith Ungol Day”.

The band is really one of the more influential bands in traditional metal history.  As a first time listener of this band, I can immediately tell that they paved the way along with the NWOBHM bands to shape metal in the 80’s to what it is today.  Through this album, I can picture the band performing through billows of smoke with fire coming out of the nostrils of a dragon.   The songs are of an ancient world, ancient history and explores elements of mysticism and fantasy(no not the kind of fantasy that involves dildos), the cool kind of fantasy that involves wizards, dragons and peasants’ homes getting engulfed for the hell of it.

Tim Baker’s vocals really carry like a knight carries a joust in the song “Fractus Promissum”, which I assume is Latin for Fractions Promised, which could mean an evil math teacher teaching the Common Core to today’s youth.  I know that that isn’t what the song is talking about, but man that would be amazing.  Anyways, Baker’s vocals coupled with the guitar sorcery of Lindstrom and Barraza make it a bon appetit for the knights of the roundtable known as Cirith Ungol.

Throughout this album, Cirith Ungol sounds fresh and relevant while paying homage to the metal of yesteryear, when metal had BALLS and gave zero fucks.  Honestly, I’ve kind of drifted away from metal lately, but this album brings me back due to its originality and to the sheer respect I have for this incredibly influential band.  Go pick up “Forever Black” wherever music is sold!  Here is the track listing:

  1.  The Call
  2.  Legions Arise
  3.  The Frost Monstreme
  4.  The Fire Divine
  5.  Stormbringer
  6.  Fractus Promissum
  7.  Nightmare
  8.  Before Tomorrow
  9.  Forever Black

Fans can find Cirith Ungol at the following locations:



Author: madnesstocreation

www.facebook.com/madnesstomethodweb www.twitter.com/MTCMadness www.instagram.com/madnesstocreation I want to thank you so much for reaching out and checking out my site. The vision that I have for this site was that I was getting weary of sites that evolve from the original message to what I refer to as "tabloid magazine stand at the grocery store checkouts" kind of sites. My heart is with the underground bands and for the bands/artists that strive to hit that dream, and they spend thousands of dollars on equipment just to play a $100 show! Please contact me and I will review you. I promise to bring you quality news, interviews, and reviews. I have a master's degree and the madness that you're creating in your art is what I'm passionate about! Feel free to contact me, I respond to all emails and to all comments on here! I am an open book! If you see a suggestion on how to improve the site, please make me aware of it! This is YOUR site. I am also in search of writers! Please hit me up with a writing sample and why you're interested. I have NO minimum content requirements, I understand that you have families to feed and a roof over your head(as do I). I want to thank you for checking it out! Please stick around regularly by liking my social media accounts and bookmark this page!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.