(Album Review) “Fragrance” by LOBBY

Out Lyon, France comes a band who is quite ambitious and is ready to take over the world of dark synthpop while offering a reimagination of a post-Joy Division world, and that band is LOBBY.  LOBBY recently released their debut album entitled “Fragrance” via Solange endormie Records.

LOBBY is composed of Timothy Roze Des Ordons(singer), Tom Dejeans(bass), Lino Etchegaray(guitar), and Nab Boudareau(synths).  They offer a nice mixture of dark synthpop, Cold Wave(think dark version of 80’s New Wave that was so famous), with touches of shoegaze in their music.

The album IMMEDIATELY grabbed our attention with a thick and groovy bassline with the title track of the album.  Tom definitely carries that bassline as we will find he does in a lot of songs with the title track.  We hear the synths interweaving with the guitarss and Timothy sounding kind of relaxed and somewhat nonchalant in his vocal stylings.  The next song entitled “Collapse” practically lays on a punk/garage rock influenced bassline, and the synths sound more atmospheric and dare I say bouncy, as it intertwines nicely with the bass.  The rhythm section bangs in the instrumental break in “Collapse”.

“Your Jail” takes into their influence of Joy Division meets the “Hot Fuzz” version of The Killers, the only thing I wish is that I would’ve held on to the synth notes in the instrumental break maybe a couple measures longer to provide more impact in the song.

If you’re in a smoke filled room or in a dark alleyway, “Fragrance” by LOBBY could be the soundtrack to that moment in time due to the ambiance and atmospheric elements that are offered throughout.  The tracks are a nice combination of snappy and somewhat melancholic all in the same breath.  I see LOBBY doing very well for themselves in the future as Madness To Creation gives this album a solid 7.5/10 stars.  The album definitely did enough to where I’m more interested in this type of music.  Here is the track listing below:

  1.  Fragrance
  2.  Collapse
  3.  Your Jail
  4.  Chimeras
  5.  Heat
  6.  Taking Down
  7.  Violence In Your Eyes
  8.  Somewhere
  9.  1881
  10.  Upside Down

Check out the music video for “Violence In Your Eyes” below:

Fans can find LOBBY at the following locations:




Author: madnesstocreation

www.facebook.com/madnesstomethodweb www.twitter.com/MTCMadness www.instagram.com/madnesstocreation I want to thank you so much for reaching out and checking out my site. The vision that I have for this site was that I was getting weary of sites that evolve from the original message to what I refer to as "tabloid magazine stand at the grocery store checkouts" kind of sites. My heart is with the underground bands and for the bands/artists that strive to hit that dream, and they spend thousands of dollars on equipment just to play a $100 show! Please contact me and I will review you. I promise to bring you quality news, interviews, and reviews. I have a master's degree and the madness that you're creating in your art is what I'm passionate about! Feel free to contact me, I respond to all emails and to all comments on here! I am an open book! If you see a suggestion on how to improve the site, please make me aware of it! This is YOUR site. I am also in search of writers! Please hit me up with a writing sample and why you're interested. I have NO minimum content requirements, I understand that you have families to feed and a roof over your head(as do I). I want to thank you for checking it out! Please stick around regularly by liking my social media accounts and bookmark this page!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.