(Throwback Review) “After Forever” by AFTER FOREVER

This was the album that was supposed to send Netherlands’ own AFTER FOREVER into the stratosphere back in 2007.  They released their self-titled album via Nuclear Blast Records on April 23th, 2007 in Europe and on September 28th, 2007 in the United States.  This album featured the powerful vocals of the one and only Floor Jansen, who one might know in her stint with Nightwish and in her current band ReVamp, along with another guitarist who would help create the underground metal sensation Epica.

After Forever’s self-titled album would chart at No. 6 in the Billboard 200 charts in the Netherlands and would also chart in Belgium, Germany, and France.  The vocals was a nice blending between the operatic vocals of Floor Jansen mixed in with the death growls of the background vocals.  The symphonic sounds would also blend in nicely with the rhythm section and the electric guitars to give the listener a full-on listening experience.

I will always what could have truly been with After Forever in the European symphonic metal world.  They were the Netherlands’ answer to Sweden’s Nightwish, and they could have done really well for themselves.  Several of the standout tracks on this album include “Equally Destructive”, “Cry With A Smile” and “Energize Me”.  Based on the potential that they had, many symphonic metal bands cite this album as a major influence and we can see why.  It is quite catchy and so palatable to listen to while it rocks so hard.  Madness To Creation rates this album an 8 out of 10 stars.  Here is the track listing below.

  1.  Discord
  2.  Evoke
  3.  Transitory
  4.  Energize Me
  5.  Equally Destructive
  6.  Withering Time
  7.  De-Energized
  8.  Cry With A Smile
  9.  Envision
  10.  Who I Am
  11.  Dreamflight
  12.  Empty Memories

Hidden track was “Lonely”.

Check out the music video for “Energize Me” below:

Author: madnesstocreation

www.facebook.com/madnesstomethodweb www.twitter.com/MTCMadness www.instagram.com/madnesstocreation I want to thank you so much for reaching out and checking out my site. The vision that I have for this site was that I was getting weary of sites that evolve from the original message to what I refer to as "tabloid magazine stand at the grocery store checkouts" kind of sites. My heart is with the underground bands and for the bands/artists that strive to hit that dream, and they spend thousands of dollars on equipment just to play a $100 show! Please contact me and I will review you. I promise to bring you quality news, interviews, and reviews. I have a master's degree and the madness that you're creating in your art is what I'm passionate about! Feel free to contact me, I respond to all emails and to all comments on here! I am an open book! If you see a suggestion on how to improve the site, please make me aware of it! This is YOUR site. I am also in search of writers! Please hit me up with a writing sample and why you're interested. I have NO minimum content requirements, I understand that you have families to feed and a roof over your head(as do I). I want to thank you for checking it out! Please stick around regularly by liking my social media accounts and bookmark this page!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.