Palmyra Delran Releases Single “I Thought You Said That You Were Gonna Kill Yourself”

Guitar rock diva, songwriter, on-air personality and masterful entertainer Palmyra Delran has released her newest single, ” I Thought You Said That You Were Gonna Kill Yourself” (PRESS HERE  to stream), off her upcoming album.

The track, which Substream Magazine calls “smart and witty,” focuses on the idea that in our culture of convenience, we sweat the small stuff. “It’s a comment about people who overdramatize small situations in their world, without considering that other people may have heavy shit going on in theirs,” Delran shares. PRESS HERE to check out Substream Magazine’s first look.


“I Thought You Said That You Were Gonna Kill Yourself” is the second single off Delran’s new album,Come Spy With Me, out November 9th via Steven Van Zandt’s Wicked Cool Records in partnership with The Orchard. Last month, Delran released the album’s title track featuring Little Steven, Debbie Harry Blondie), and John Carlucci ( Fuzztones), which spotlights the resurgence of the 60s and 70s punk sound in the modern punk scene. The track was also featured as Coolest Song In The World on Little Steven Van Zandt’s worldwide terrestrial radio show Underground Garage – PRESS HERE to listen!


Delran is inciting espionage and bringing fans along for the ride with the release of her forthcoming album, Come Spy With Me, which stays true to her longtime artistic vision as she assumes producing and tracking duties. The album features a wide range of collaborators including Blondie’s Debbie Harry – who lends vocals on two tracks – as well as Kim Shattuck ( Muffs), Cáit O’Riordan ( Pogues),Betsy ToddGenya RavanPeter Zaremba ( Fleshtones), Paul Collins ( Paul Collins’ Beat), Rachelle GarniezEddie Muñoz ( Plimsouls), ” Speedie” John Carlucci ( Fuzztones), Mike EdisonBen VaughnMatt ClarkeDick Manitoba (The Dictators), Charlie Nieland, and even Little Steven himself.


A punk pioneer, Palmyra Delran‘s musical integrity stems from years at the forefront of all things rock ‘n’ roll. Packing more melody than her riot grrrl counterparts and more rock grit than most members of the alt-rock boy’s club, her impressive career spans a stint in Pink Slip Daddy and co-founding nineties girl group The Friggs – who released the seminal Rock Candy, shared the stage with the likes of The Ramones and Cheap Trick, and also lent tunes to big-screen classics such as Superbad and Jawbreaker.
Upon the band’s dissolution, Palmyra poured herself into multiple musical projects, releasing unforgettable solo music and unexpected collaborations including an acclaimed set of singles with Bubble Gun (John Carlucci, Laura Carlucci, Michelle Balderrama, & Rikki Styxx), that showcase the multifaceted nature of her talent. Her 2013 album, You Are What You Absorb,featured “You’re My Brian Jones” ( PRESS HERE to watch) and was met with praise for Palmyra’s adrenaline-rush rhythms and potent musical skill which Guitar World described as “another intoxicating blend of punk-girl grit combined with hook-laden melodies and deep lyrics.”
When she’s not writing, recording, or touring, Delran bring the rock to the people as host of Palmyra’s Trash-Pop Shindig on Little Steven’s Underground Garage channel on SiriusXM which airs Sundays from 9am-1pm EST and delivers a rebellious range of sweet surf sounds, rambunctious rock n’ roll and everything in between – the sort of eclectic lineup listeners have come to expect from the host Little Steven calls “the Lucille Ball of rock n’ roll.”
Delran’s forthcoming full-length release, Come Spy With Me, catapults the trash-pop maven from the garage into the driver’s seat of the most souped-up set of wheels this side of 007’s Aston Martin – strap in and enjoy the ride!
* Album Artwork:  Fred Lammers
Come Spy With Me track listing:
  1. Come Spy With Me (featuring Little Steven, Debbie Harry, John Carlucci)
  2. Happy Birthday Middle Child (featuring Debbie Harry)
  3. Tape A Nickel To The Tonearm (featuring Ben Vaughn, Peter Zaremba, Mike Edison)
  4. I’m Satisfied (featuring Genya Ravan)
  5. (If You’d Like To Make A Call) Please Hang Up (featuring Paul Collins)
  6. Walk Away (featuring Kim Shattuck, Matt Clarke)
  7. I Thought You Said That You Were Gonna Kill Yourself
  8. Chica Ye Ye (featuring Rachelle Garniez)
  9. Tragedy Ann (featuring Betsy Todd)
  10. Shortest Longest Story (featuring Cáit O’ Riordan, Eddie Muñoz)
  11. Ballad Of Madface and the Baby (featuring Handsome Dick Manitoba, Charlie Nieland)
  12. Song Of Love
Connect with Palmyra Delran:
* Photo Credit:  Albert Mitchell
About madnesstocreation 3597 Articles I want to thank you so much for reaching out and checking out my site. The vision that I have for this site was that I was getting weary of sites that evolve from the original message to what I refer to as "tabloid magazine stand at the grocery store checkouts" kind of sites. My heart is with the underground bands and for the bands/artists that strive to hit that dream, and they spend thousands of dollars on equipment just to play a $100 show! Please contact me and I will review you. I promise to bring you quality news, interviews, and reviews. I have a master's degree and the madness that you're creating in your art is what I'm passionate about! Feel free to contact me, I respond to all emails and to all comments on here! I am an open book! If you see a suggestion on how to improve the site, please make me aware of it! This is YOUR site. I am also in search of writers! Please hit me up with a writing sample and why you're interested. I have NO minimum content requirements, I understand that you have families to feed and a roof over your head(as do I). I want to thank you for checking it out! Please stick around regularly by liking my social media accounts and bookmark this page!

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.