Ihshan Releases Music Video for “Arcana Imperii” for Upcoming Release “Amr”

IHSAHN, one of Norway’s most pioneering musical legends, has unveiled details of his upcoming studio album Àmr. The nine-track long-player will be released via Candlelight/Spinefarm on May 4, 2018Pre-orders are now live.

The first track to be made available from the album is “Arcana Imperii,” which features a guitar solo by Opeth’s Fredrik Åkesson. Watch the video and listen here.

“As with previous albums, I’ve tried to maintain a certain diversity throughout Àmr, with every track having a somewhat individual identity,” the artist said, “So, as a first introduction, I felt “Arcana Imperii’ contained several key elements from the whole album and was a logical choice as first single and video.”

Drawing from a rich pool of influences and utilising a wide range of instruments, Ihsahn has created a dark and brooding masterpiece of an album. Àmr possesses its own unique atmosphere; a palpable sense of tension and unease that infuses even the album’s most melodic moments with heightened drama and otherworldly menace.

Although as dark and intense as anything he has conjured before, both the depth of sonic texture and the clarity of his overarching vision are more impressive than ever.

Opting to eschew string arrangements and orchestration in favour of synthesisers, Àmr strides boldly into uncharted territory yet retains Ihsahn’s signature high level skill and off-the-scale quality. Drenched in evocative synths and brimming with skewed but irresistible riffs, Àmr is both Ihsahn’s most accessible record to date and his most extreme departure from his black metal roots.

Whilst he is something of a musical polymath, Ihsahn was joined on the recording of Àmr by Tobias Ørnes Andersen who provided drums and percussion.

Àmr was recorded at his own Mnemosyne Studio, except for drum recordings, which were done at Sonic Attic Studios. Mixing was handled by Fascination Street Studios, in the capable hands of the talented Linus Corneliusson. Mastering was once again done by Jens Bogren.

The record will be available on CD, 2xLP gatefold vinyl, and digitally. “Arcana Imperii” is available as an instant download with digital pre-orders of the album.

1. Lend Me The Eyes of Millennia
2. Arcana Imperii
3. Sámr
4. One Less Enemy
5. Where You Are Lost And I Belong
6. In Rites of Passage
7. Marble Soul
8. Twin Black Angels
9. Wake
10. Alone (Poem by Edgar Allan Poe) — Bonus Track

Fans can find Ihsahn at the following locations:






About madnesstocreation 3646 Articles
www.facebook.com/madnesstomethodweb www.twitter.com/MTCMadness www.instagram.com/madnesstocreation I want to thank you so much for reaching out and checking out my site. The vision that I have for this site was that I was getting weary of sites that evolve from the original message to what I refer to as "tabloid magazine stand at the grocery store checkouts" kind of sites. My heart is with the underground bands and for the bands/artists that strive to hit that dream, and they spend thousands of dollars on equipment just to play a $100 show! Please contact me and I will review you. I promise to bring you quality news, interviews, and reviews. I have a master's degree and the madness that you're creating in your art is what I'm passionate about! Feel free to contact me, I respond to all emails and to all comments on here! I am an open book! If you see a suggestion on how to improve the site, please make me aware of it! This is YOUR site. I am also in search of writers! Please hit me up with a writing sample and why you're interested. I have NO minimum content requirements, I understand that you have families to feed and a roof over your head(as do I). I want to thank you for checking it out! Please stick around regularly by liking my social media accounts and bookmark this page!

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.