Myja’s Self-Titled Record, pure quality!

On January 12th, Los Angeles, California side project masterminds Michael Marquart(A Bad Think) and Jacob Bunton(Lynam, Adler) released their self titled record “Myja” via Watermark Recordings.  Roll down the windows, let the wind blow through your hair, and let this group bring you back to the AM/Classic Rock radio days of yesteryear.

This record has rhythmic guitar riffs, a sensible rhythm section, and lush melancholy melodies that plays for solid roadtrip music, which reminds me of the 1990’s when bands like Fastball and Marcy Playground were kings mixed with when Bruce Springsteen created the albums “Magic” and “Nebraska”.  Case in point in the song “Flood”, it has such a rhythmic offering yet Marquart and Bunton provide such lush melodies and arrangements in the chorus of the song.

In essence, this record is pretty dark from a mood and tone standpoint, songs that sound lushful and poppy yet it sounds like it could be played as a backdrop in a depressing part of a movie or at someone’s wake.  Case in point, in the song “Mourning The Death”, they are really able to convey the sadness of goodbyes with the guitars, and even the vocals sounding tired and weary.  In this case, sounding tired and weary is considered to be quite a compliment as Myja is able to get to the point of the sadness of the song, which is a lost art in a lot of forms of music these days.

Overall, Myja’s self-titled record is a solid offering that explores the concept of coping with feelings of melancholy.  The listener can relate to that feeling of wanting a place in this world and somewhere to fit in, and for that listener, Myja is the soundtrack to that life.  Madness To Creation rates this an 8 out of 10 stars.  Check out the track listing below.

  1.  Hit And Run
  2.  Anniversary
  3.  Breath
  4.  Into Focus
  5.  Hangman
  6.  Just One Kiss
  7.  Dear Eden
  8.  Flood
  9.  Plans
  10.  Mourning The Death

Fans can check out the album via YouTube below!

Fans can find Myja at the following locations:

About madnesstocreation 3666 Articles I want to thank you so much for reaching out and checking out my site. The vision that I have for this site was that I was getting weary of sites that evolve from the original message to what I refer to as "tabloid magazine stand at the grocery store checkouts" kind of sites. My heart is with the underground bands and for the bands/artists that strive to hit that dream, and they spend thousands of dollars on equipment just to play a $100 show! Please contact me and I will review you. I promise to bring you quality news, interviews, and reviews. I have a master's degree and the madness that you're creating in your art is what I'm passionate about! Feel free to contact me, I respond to all emails and to all comments on here! I am an open book! If you see a suggestion on how to improve the site, please make me aware of it! This is YOUR site. I am also in search of writers! Please hit me up with a writing sample and why you're interested. I have NO minimum content requirements, I understand that you have families to feed and a roof over your head(as do I). I want to thank you for checking it out! Please stick around regularly by liking my social media accounts and bookmark this page!

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.