“Thunderbolt” by Saxon, like fine wine…

It takes a virtually unlimited amount of creative energy and spark to continue to pour albums out to the masses.  British heavy metal giants Saxon has that down to a fine science with their February 2nd release of their 22nd album “Thunderbolt” via Militia Guard.

Based on speaking with the legendary Biff Byford, Biff really enjoys reading copious amounts of literature and the classics such as Greek mythology.  Biff’s knowledge of Greek mythology, history, and the classics is clearly evident as Saxon implores such a creative way of crafting their songs from a lyrical standpoint in tracks such as the title track “Thunderbolt” and “Sons of Odin”.  In those tracks, there tells those classic Greek mythology stories and they are written in such a way that they could be used in some sort of educational setting while the riffs sound so crisp and the rhythm section just sweeps the listener away into the odysseys and tales that are being foretold in those aforementioned songs.

Stories of history and fantasy are in full on display throughout this album.  Saxon does a masterful job crafting their songs and arranging their songs to make them fit the subject content of the songs.  Case in point is the song “Nosferatu(The Vampire’s Waltz)”.  Keyboard arrangements and a sonic rhythm section coupled with the lyrical content really triggers the sensory imagery as Saxon paints that fantasy picture of the story of “Nosferatu(The Vampire’s Waltz)”.  The guitar riff in that song is sweeping and tastefully done as it enhances the story, which certainly makes it a highlight for Saxon in this particular album.

Saxon also does a masterful job of paying tribute to their fallen friends in Motorhead with the song “They Played Rock and Roll”.  In this track, Saxon certainly takes on the influence of Motorhead’s combination style of punk, thrash, and metal by playing such a heartfelt tribute to this song and are able to take the lyrics and make it sound like a total rock anthem and a heartfelt tribute all in the same breath.  The song certainly takes Saxon down that trip through memory lane as they reminisce on the life and times, and memories of Motorhead in this heartfelt poignant tribute.

22 albums and Saxon still shows the rest of the world how metal should be done with their supreme arrangements, skull-crushing riffs and rhythm section, and from a lyrical standpoint, they showcase that they are still the thinking man’s metal band with “Thunderbolt”.  This album certainly deserves a 10 star rating as it’s an early candidate for record of the year!  Check out the track listing below.

  1.  Olympus Rising
  2.  Thunderbolt
  3.  The Secret of Flight
  4.  Nosferatu (The Vampire’s Waltz)
  5.  They Played Rock and Roll
  6.  Predator
  7.  Sons of Odin
  8.  Sniper
  9.  A Wizard’s Tale
  10.  Speed Merchants
  11.  Roadie’s Song
  12.  Nosferatu (Raw Version) *not available on vinyl

Saxon will be touring the U.K. and Europe in support of “Thunderbolt” and they are bringing along special guests Diamond Head and Rock Goddess to provide direct support for the tour package.  Magnum will be special guest on the Hull, United Kingdom date only.  Check out the tour dates below!
Thunderbolt 2018 European Tour – Part 1
Fri February 23 – UK, Cardiff University
Sat February 24 – UK, Cambridge Corn Exchange
Sun February 25 – UK, Hull City Hall
Tue February 27– Holland, Tilburg 013
Wed February 28 – Germany, Saarbruecken Garage
Thu March 1 – Germany,  Hannover Capitol
Fri March 2 – Germany,  Frankfurt Batschkapp
Sat March 3 – Germany, Dresden Schlachthof

This spring, Saxon and Black Star Riders will be providing direct support for classic metal giants Judas Priest on the “Firepower” tour.  Check out tour dates below!

Tue March 13- Mohegan Sun Arena at Casey Plaza in Wilkes-Barre, PA

Thu March 15- Covelli Centre in Youngstown, OH

Fri March 16- The Chance in Poughskeepie, New York(no Judas Priest)

Sat March 17- Nassau Coliseum in Uniondale, NY

Sun March 18- The Anthem in Washington D.C.

Tue March 20- Prudential Center in Newark, NJ

Wed March 21- Boathouse Live in Newport News, VA(no Judas Priest)

Thu March 22- Mohegan Sun Arena in Montville, CT

Sun March 25- The Arena at TD Place in Ottawa, CN

Tue March 27- Budweiser Gardens in London, CN

Wed March 28- Tribute Communities Centre in Oshawa, CN

Sat March 31- Detroit Masonic Temple in Detroit, MI

Tue April 3- Riverside Theater in Milwaukee, WI

Wed April 4- Delmar Hall in St. Louis, MO

Thu April 5- Resch Center in Green Bay, WI

Fri April 6- The Horseshoe Casino in Hammond, IN

Sun April 8- Grossinger Motors Arena in Bloomington, IL

Tue April 10- Casper Events Center in Casper, WY

Wed April 11- Budweiser Events Center in Loveland, CO

Sun April 15- ShoWare Center in Kent, OH

Tue April 17- Veterans Memorial Coliseum in Portland, OR

Thu April 19- The Warfield in San Francisco, CA

Sat April 21- Las Rageous in Las Vegas, NV

Sun April 22- Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles, CA

Tue April 24- Comerica Theater in Phoenix, AZ

Thu April 26- BOK Center in Tulsa, OK

Sat April 28- Bomb Factory in Dallas, TX

Sun April 29- Smart Financial Center in Sugar Land, TX

Tue May 1- Freeman Coliseum in San Antonio, TX

For tickets and further information, click here!

Find Saxon at the following locations:

www.saxon747.com

www.facebook.com/saxon

 

 

 

Author: madnesstocreation

www.facebook.com/madnesstomethodweb www.twitter.com/MTCMadness www.instagram.com/madnesstocreation I want to thank you so much for reaching out and checking out my site. The vision that I have for this site was that I was getting weary of sites that evolve from the original message to what I refer to as "tabloid magazine stand at the grocery store checkouts" kind of sites. My heart is with the underground bands and for the bands/artists that strive to hit that dream, and they spend thousands of dollars on equipment just to play a $100 show! Please contact me and I will review you. I promise to bring you quality news, interviews, and reviews. I have a master's degree and the madness that you're creating in your art is what I'm passionate about! Feel free to contact me, I respond to all emails and to all comments on here! I am an open book! If you see a suggestion on how to improve the site, please make me aware of it! This is YOUR site. I am also in search of writers! Please hit me up with a writing sample and why you're interested. I have NO minimum content requirements, I understand that you have families to feed and a roof over your head(as do I). I want to thank you for checking it out! Please stick around regularly by liking my social media accounts and bookmark this page!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.