“The Omega” by Egonaut, doom rock!

In 2016, Swedish doom-rock technicians Egonaut reformed with a new vocalist in tow as Emil Kyrk joined Egonaut.  In November 2017, Egonaut returned with a vengeance with their latest offering entitled “The Omega”.

There is some material and feelings to take in with this album.  The album seems conceptual and dark with brooding emotions thrown into the mix.  Fans will immediately be hit in the chest after the anticipatory build-up with the track “Initium”.  The intro of the track has the Hammond Organ incorporated with down-tuned guitars and a great rhythm section.  The unique thing about this opening track is that this is the only track on “The Omega” that has any sort of growling.  The vocals pack a punch when Emil sings “Show yourself to me”.  Emil sings this with a purpose and with a chip on his shoulder.  However the transitions in the brief instrumental break sound a bit choppy, I like my transitions/progressions to be smooth.

The guitar tone in the intro to “Alienati” sounds really cool and it builds that anticipatory setting, it has that doom rock feel to it and the progression in the intro as it kicks it sounds very smooth and seamless.  This song is undoubtedly the strength of the album as Emil sounds like a mix of M. Shadows of Avenged Sevenfold and Geoff Tate of Queensryche.  The chorus in this track is astounding, I absolutely love the guitar tone, which makes for a memorable guitar riff.

The chugging sound incorporated with the organ and ambiance sounds infectious yet haunting in “Offerings”.  The vocals sound progressive and epic in this track and in the track closer “Revelations”.

Overall, I appreciate how Egonaut mixes it up in their tracks in order to complete the story in “The Omega”.  It will be a lot to take in for the average metal listener, however, if one is into prog metal mixed in with some doom elements, then “The Omega” by Egonaut is quite a delectable offering for that palate.  Egonaut continues to carve out that niche and take the road less traveled in the doom-rock genre, this album gets a solid 7.5/10 stars for that alone.  Check out the track listing below.

  1.  Initium
  2.  Alienati
  3.  Offerings
  4.  The Abdication
  5.  The Pledge
  6.  Into The Eye
  7.  Awakenings
  8.  Totentanz
  9.  Deathsworn
  10.  Revelations

Check out the lyric video for “Offerings” below!

On Saturday, January 27th, Egonaut will be playing at Bowlingstallet in Falkoping, Sweden.  On Saturday, February 10th, Egonaut will be playing at Nocturnefest in Copenhagen, Denmark.  For tickets and further information for the two shows listed, click here!

Fans can find Egonaut at the following locations:



Author: madnesstocreation

www.facebook.com/madnesstomethodweb www.twitter.com/MTCMadness www.instagram.com/madnesstocreation I want to thank you so much for reaching out and checking out my site. The vision that I have for this site was that I was getting weary of sites that evolve from the original message to what I refer to as "tabloid magazine stand at the grocery store checkouts" kind of sites. My heart is with the underground bands and for the bands/artists that strive to hit that dream, and they spend thousands of dollars on equipment just to play a $100 show! Please contact me and I will review you. I promise to bring you quality news, interviews, and reviews. I have a master's degree and the madness that you're creating in your art is what I'm passionate about! Feel free to contact me, I respond to all emails and to all comments on here! I am an open book! If you see a suggestion on how to improve the site, please make me aware of it! This is YOUR site. I am also in search of writers! Please hit me up with a writing sample and why you're interested. I have NO minimum content requirements, I understand that you have families to feed and a roof over your head(as do I). I want to thank you for checking it out! Please stick around regularly by liking my social media accounts and bookmark this page!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.