Edge Of Free

The classic albums “Yellow”(or some call it “Orange”) by Days Of The New and “Jar Of Flies” by Alice In Chains represented some sheer power, highly emotional lyrical content, all the while showcasing that the acoustic guitar bears the soul, packs the punch, and brings the ambiance to the lyrical content even better than a full-on electric guitar and screaming vocals.  This is what Edge Of Free members Scott Sneddon and John Hussey sought out to do in creating this self-titled record.

Edge Of Free tapped esteemed producer Toby Wright, who produced the famed “Jar Of Flies” album by Alice In Chains, to create this record.  They took the anxiety, loneliness, depressing, and uneasy thoughts of packing everything up in a Mazda as they moved from Los Angeles, California to Nashville, Tennessee and put every single thought, emotion, and every piece of their soul into creating this record.  Yet, they took those feelings and instead of making them feel dark and full of despair, Edge Of Free somehow finds that light at the end of the tunnel or that oasis in the middle of a desert in the songs.

The self-titled record starts off with a track called “Blood Eagle”.  I immediately notice the succinct work on the guitar by John Hussey as it’s a wonderful blend of the acoustic guitar and the electric guitar that reminds us of something that Jerry Cantrell would craft on “Jar Of Flies” or Travis Meeks of Days Of The New would craft on the days of the “Touch, Peel, and Stand” classic.  The bridge of the song sounds absolutely climatic with the guitar work as it soars and takes the band to previously undiscovered heights.  Scott Snedden sings with unbridled passion and the listener would about literally cringe over feeling and witnessing his soul being stripped bare.

The songwriting and the storytelling is evident in “Soul Of Your Grace”.  The chorus soars as the song talks about longing for home and longing for forgiveness.  I notice as I kept listening to this album this song especially grew on me because of how soul-bearing and how honest the song felt.  The singing structure combines a soulful tinge with a grunge tinge with a singer-songwriter tinge to it.

The acoustic guitar in “Pony” and the drums is where the beauty of the song and the haunting vibe of the song collides.  Between the melodies, and the harmonies that Edge Of Free possesses, it really showcases what this band is about, and that is finding that contrast between beauty and tragedy, finding the beauty in ugliness, and looking for the helpers(as Mr. Rogers says) when there is a catastrophic event.

This record you will need to give it a couple of listens to figure out what Edge Of Free is about, once you do, you will realize that America is sleeping on this band and that they need to get noticed immediately.  The song structure is impeccable, the harmonies tug at the heartstrings, and the musicianship is subtle yet powerful.  9 out of 10 star effort for Edge Of Free, and probably the more I listen to it, it will be a 10 star album.  Here is the track listing to their self-titled album below.

“Edge Of Free” by Edge Of Free

  1.  Blood Eagle
  2.  Soul Of Your Grace
  3.  Pony
  4.  Higher
  5.  In My Time (Falling)
  6.  Autumn
  7.  Edge Of Free
  8.  Pushin’ The Needle

Check out the music video to “Pony” by Edge Of Free below

Check out Edge Of Free at the following locations:





One thought on “Edge Of Free’s Self-Titled Record, heartfelt indeed!”

Leave a Reply